Seersucker Baby Shorts

On my awesome visit to JoAnns, I purchased come cute blue and white seersucker for a ridiculously cheap price. I have always wanted to make Oliver a pair of shorts out of seersucker; I just love the look! So nautical.

I took a pair of Olivers pants that are my fave and have the perfect fit for a cloth diapered bum and traced out a pattern. I hemmed and serged them up, adding one of my little cheesy labels, then added the elastic and finished them off. Oh I was so excited about them! They looked cute, they looked right, and then I tried to put them on him. The waist was too small! Oh darn it! First piece of clothing I have ever attempted to make and they weren’t right! I felt deflated! Then I figured out my problem; I didn’t widen the waist at all when I traced around those pants! So the waist was about 2 inches too small. Unfortunately I do not have anymore seersucker so once I get some more, I will definitely fix my mistake and have Oliver strut his stuff in them. I hope. Ill even make some cute pants too.. maybe out of red and white seersucker!

image

image

image

But aren’t these just super cute!?! I will be gifting these to someone who recently had their first baby boy.

Back to the drawing board!

*Reminder! We are having a giveaway for the month of September to celebrate National Sewing Month! Anyone who comments in a post tagged ‘National Sewing Month’ will be entered to win! Please see our Giveaway section at the top of the blog for more information on the giveaway. Comment away!*

Visit Top Mommy Blogs To Vote For Me

2 thoughts on “Seersucker Baby Shorts

  1. You can salvage them by opening up the sides and sewing in a 11/2 inch strip of another fabric down each side! Then finish with new elastic!

Leave a Reply

