Guest Post | The Brilliant Mom

Hi! Amanda here from The Brilliant Mom!

When I first decided I wanted to cloth diaper my baby, I honestly had not even considered using cloth wipes. I actually didn’t even know they existed. I doubt you will find them in Target next to disposable wipes. At my baby shower I received (among many handmade gifts from my aunt) 30 adorable owl print flannel square wipes. Along with this sweet gift, she made me a cute little booklet filled with cloth wipe recipes. A whole new world was opened up to me! The idea of knowing exactly what I was going to put on my baby’s booty was reassuring. No mystery chemicals. No artificial fragrance, no parabens, and no preservatives. As a mother, you get to decide what goes into baby’s wipe solution and since every baby’s skin is different, you get to discover your baby’s unique skincare needs.

If you are going to cloth diaper your baby, then using cloth wipes is kind of an easy given. Wipes get laundered right along the cloth diapers. There are several options on how you store and moisten the wipes with a wipe solution. I picked one way in the beginning and it has worked well for us so I stuck with it. I make up my wipe solution in an 8oz squeeze bottle (I actually use the cleanse bottle they gave me at the hospital when I had my son.) My batch usually lasts for 2-3 days, which keeps the solution fresh. For on the go, I use a 2oz travel sized shampoo squeeze bottle from Target that I throw in my wet-dry bag along with a few cloth wipes.

For each diaper change, I squirt a bit of the solution onto each individual cloth wipe that I plan to use for that diaper change. I typically use 1 wipe for a wet diaper and 2-3 for a poopy diaper. I have found that most disposable wipes just push the mess around and you end up using an excessive amount of wipes on a poopy diaper. Cloth wipes easily and gently clean the toosh and therefore less wipes are needed for each change.

I have discovered that flannel cloth wipes have a life-span of about 8-10 months before it is time to replace them with a new stash. Over time they pill and loose some of their original softness. I was stoked to find out that Ashley was making cloth wipes for Oliver’s Treasure Chest on Etsy. She did a custom order of these adorable robot print wipes for me. (They look almost too cute for wiping up poo, huh?) I love them and so does baby boy’s bum.

I have compiled a list for you of cloth wipe solution recipes from some of the best that my aunt gave me in the recipe booklet. (Disclaimer: these recipes were found on various websites all over the internet. I do not know where the original sources are as the booklet was given to me as a gift without citation.) Feel free to adjust measurements for how large or small of a batch you would like to make. I recommend small so that you avoid any opportunity for the growth of mildew.

Enjoy experimenting with these recipes and let me know what you find that works best for you and baby!

-Amanda

Cloth Wipe Recipes:

My Quick Go To Solution:
1 cup water
2 squirts Melaleuca Renew Bath Oil (with tea tree oil)
1 squirt Melaleuca Koala Pals bath soap

Easy Basic Wipe Solution:
2 tbsp oil (baby, olive, grapeseed… Not vegetable)
2 tbsp baby wash
2 cups water

Grapefruit Essential Oil Solution:
16 oz. warm water
1 tbsp oil- almond or grapeseed oil
1 tbsp baby soap
2-4 drops of grapefruit essential oil

Anti-Fungal Solution: (yeast rash protection)
1 tsp white vinegar
1 tbsp calendula oil
A few drops lavender oil
A few drops tea tree oil
1/4 cup 100% aloe Vera gel
1 cup water
(note: omit vinegar if baby has a raw rash)

Chamomile and Honey Solution:
1 chamomile tea bag
1 tsp honey
1 cup boiling water
(note: Not a good solution for babies who have yeast rash problems as yeast can feed on honey and spread.)

Apricot Solution:
1 tbsp apricot oil
1 tbsp unscented baby wash
3 cups water

Witch Hazel Solution:
1 cup witch hazel
1/2 cup aloe vera juice
1 tbsp olive oil
1 tsp white vinegar
(note: omit vinegar if baby has a raw rash)

Quick and Easy No Measure Solution:
2 squirts oil
2 squirts baby wash
1 drop of your choice Essential Oil
About 1 cup water

Olive and Tea Tree Solution:
1/4 cup olive oil
1/8 baby wash
A few drops tea tree oil
4 cups water

Lanolin and Glycerine:
1 tbsp liquid glycerine
1/4 tsp liquid 100% pure lanolin
1 tbsp baby wash
1-3 drops your choice Essential Oil
4 cups water

Lavender and Tea Tree Solution:
1/8 cup olive oil
1 tbsp scent free or lavender scented baby wash
4 drops tea tree oil
8 drops lavender oil
3 cups water

Lovely Lavender Solution:
1 tbsp oil
1 tbsp lavender scented baby wash
2-3 drops lavender oil
3 cups water

Almond and Chamomile:
2 chamomile tea bags
2 teaspoons almond oil
2 cups hot water
(note: steep tea bags first, then add oil.)

Essential Oil Solution:
4 cups warm water
2-4 drops tea tree oil
2-4 drops lavender essential oil
1 tbsp grapeseed oil
1 tbsp calendula oil
2 tbsp baby wash

Leave a Reply

