DIY Baking Soda Shampoo and Conditioner

As you all may know, Im a bit of a hippie. I rarely shave my legs and arm pits {mostly cause Im lazy and I have about 2 minutes from when I set baby down till when he will start crying}, I use natural products on my face and body {I make most all of my lotion and facial scrubs}, we unpaper towel, cloth diaper, and recycle like mad men around here. Well it’s no exception when it comes to my hair. At the salon, I request natural products to be used and when I shower, I use chemical free ‘shampoo’ and conditioner.

Here I will show you a few simple steps to making your own ‘no-poo’ shampoo and conditioner with ingredients you already have in your house! {I love DIY posts like this!}

Baking Soda Shampoo

Materials:

-measuring cup

-baking soda

-filtered water

-funnel

-tablespoon

-container for shampoo {I use travel size bottles I have lying around. You could use an empty shampoo bottle}

Procedure:

*The ratio of water to baking soda is one cup of water to one tablespoon of baking soda. I used one cup of water only for my three travel size bottles. Larger containers or bottles will require more so make sure your ratio is adjusted to your needs*

Pour one cup of cold filtered water into container or bottle

Add one table spoon of baking soda using funnel {so we don’t get too messy here folks!}

*I premix mine in measuring cup then pour in because I use travel sized bottles and its hard to measure out the water and baking soda ratio. If you do this, be sure to stir the mixture before pouring into each bottle*

Shake!

Now store it in the shower and its ready to go!

To use:

Simply squirt in your hair and massage into scalp then rinse

TIP!! You can also make as a paste by using less water to get the consistency you want! Store in a container for use. Be sure to rinse it out thoroughly so your hair doesn’t feel grainy!

Apple Cider Vinegar Conditioner

Materials:

apple cider vinegar

filtered water

container or bottle

Procedure:

*The ratio of water to ACV is one cup of water to one tablespoon of ACV. I used one cup of water only for my two travel size bottles. Larger containers or bottles will require more so make sure your ratio is adjusted to your needs*

Pour one cup of water into container or bottle

Add one tablespoon of ACV

*I premix mine in measuring cup then pour in because I use travel sized bottles and its hard to measure out the water and baking soda ratio. If you do this, be sure to stir the mixture before pouring into each bottle*

Shake!

Store in shower with your ‘no-poo’ for use!

To use:

Squirt mixture on ends of your hair. Be aware that if you use any amount on your scalp it can feel oily. You can put some in your hands and run your hands over your head to condition avoiding massaging it into your scalp.

Rinse thoroughly

Fun tip! I like to leave in the baking soda shampoo and squirt the ACV conditioner in my hair for a foamy feeling! 

I’ve only been doing this for about 6 months {since Oliver was born} and already I am seeing results. Your hair has to go through a process of adjustment so be patient with your hair. It may seem extra oily at first and you may need to wash your hair more often, but think of all the money you’re saving as well as keeping large amounts of chemicals off of your hair and scalp! One box of baking soda and a bottle of apple cider vinegar can last you the entire year with only spending a few dollars! Not to mention the amount of plastic bottles we are not throwing into landfills!

Enjoy your shiny new hair!


Visit Top Mommy Blogs To Vote For Me

Leave a Reply

