DIY Makeup Remover

After reading an article yesterday that scared the crap out of me, I decided I needed to make a few more natural products at home, especially ones to use on my face.

I don’t wear much makeup, but when I do I usually end up sleeping with it on my face because I can’t seem to find a makeup remover out there that isn’t all natural that won’t break my bank. And after that article {you seriously need to click on that link!}, I’m not sure I want to buy much of any type of cosmetic in the stores anymore. So I set out to solve my makeup remover problems with three ingredients! The great thing about this stuff is you pretty much know what the heck is in it!

Materials:

-jar with lid

-olive oil or coconut oil

tear free baby shampoo

-water

Procedure:


Pour 1/2 tablespoon of baby shampoo into jar

Pour 1/4 teaspoon olive oil or coconut oil

Pour in enough water to fill the jar

See all the oil float to the top

Put lid on jar and shake it thoroughly

Put a cute label on

And you’re ready to use it!

As with any makeup remover, always shake the liquid before use. Store at room temperature in the bathroom or beauty closet.

If you do purchase cosmetics in store, online, or anywhere else, always check the package or bottle to make sure it says ‘Not tested on animals’! Buy natural when you can and save the lives of little critters {and save your skin from abrasive ingredients!}.


Visit Top Mommy Blogs To Vote For Me

7 thoughts on “DIY Makeup Remover

  1. Pingback: SHOW-licious Sunday Craft Showcase #4 |

    • Wild, huh? Its really amazing to see how few ingredients products actually need to work. But in order to get fast results that are very affective companies put chemicals and abrasions in the products. Plus, every shelved product out there is loaded with preservatives, which can be harmful to your skin. Unfortunately, for big box companies to carry products on their shelves, they have to have an extended shelf life so those preservatives are pumped in there {along with foods! EW!} so they keep. Its all so frustrating what cosmetic companies are doing! Even California Baby, a major supplier of baby bath products and more, has added a harsh preservative to their products for shelf life so we had to stop purchasing those products after that change. If I cant read it, I wont use it – thats my rule. And I try to be as natural as possible. Wow, sorry for my rant haha. Yes, just three ingredients is all you need for makeup remover. It simply is amazing.

    • You would treat it like any makeup remover off the shelf – just simply wipe your make up off. I typically use this before I wash my face for the night, but thats just the routine I have. I know a lot of people that just use this to wipe off their makeup then they go to bed. As long as you follow up with a secondary wipe with a dry tissue or towel, you shouldnt have to worry about the oils on your skin. Hope that helps!

Leave a comment